Chaharbagh School (Persian: مدرسه چهارباغ, [Madreseye Chahar Bagh]) is one of the most prominent historical monuments in Isfahan city (half of the world). Most attractions of Isfahan were built during the Safavid era (1501-1376) when Isfahan, the famous capital of Iran at that time, was well known for its magnificent architecture and urban planning.
Chaharbagh School enjoys old cypress trees, which are more than 300 years old, eye-catching tiles, a dome and minarets rising in the sky, a stunning and unique pool, and its delicate architecture. It is the last religious and historical building of the Safavid era in which students study religion.
This magnificent building is located on Chaharbagh Boulevard in Isfahan city, and that is why it is named Chaharbagh School.
The bazaar, an excellent example of Safavid bazaars, is located in the northern part of this school and at a higher altitude. These days, it is called the Art Bazaar (Bazaar-e Honar). It is said that the mother of Shah Sultan Hussein, the last Safavid king, had dedicated this bazaar to produce revenue to meet the cost of living of students.
According to many historical documents, this building has been used for two purposes; mosque and school. Its marble Minbar (pulpit) and turquoise dome are very famous due to their graceful architecture and decorations.
Chaharbagh School has also been noticed and admired by those interested in Islamic architecture and historical buildings thanks to its stunning beauty and variety of tiles.
From the outside, the school has a tall and splendid entrance gate and minaret, which are surrounded by seventeen corbel arches on two brick floors. The entrance of the school, decorated with gold and silver, another example of the art of jewelry and toreutics in Safavid architecture.
There are beautiful porches around the school courtyard, among which there are rooms on two floors. Most of these rooms, which were the residence and sleeping place of the students, have the same and similar decorations.
The mosque of Chaharbagh School has a tiled Mihrab (a semicircular niche in the wall) and a marble Minbar (pulpit) with impressive carvings. Above the Mihrab and throughout the school, there are inscriptions in Nasta'liq script (calligraphy), decorated with Ayah (verses) from the Qur'an, hadiths, and praises.
Since 1978, the name of this school and its library has been changed from Chahar Bagh to Imam Jafar Sadegh Theological College, and now, it is a place for education and training of religious students.